November 29, 2013

Black Star Sponsors 12 Years A Slave for Young Men and Young Women; Phillip Jackson on WVON at 7:00 pm CST Tonight

Black Star Logo
Making Progress; Moving Forward!
Black Star Sponsors 12 Years A Slave
The Black Star Project's website:
Black Star Journal:
Become a Member:
Click Here
Event Calendar:
Like us on Facebook:

The Black Star Project 
is sponsoring a public showing of 
12 Years A Slave
for 300 Young Men and Women 
and their Families
Saturday, November 30, 2013
9:45 am 
Chatham Theaters
210 West 87th Street
Chicago, Illinois
$6.00 Admission - Rated R(Restricted)*
20 minute debriefing after film

"Emotional and Brutal" 
In depicting American slavery, Hollywood has long left some of the most brutal realities largely unseen. But the filmmakers behind "12 Years a Slave" tried not to flinch in showing the full system of human subjugation. The major challenge for this film was understanding in human terms a dehumanizing institution.  Please call 773.285.9600 to RSVP or to pay for a young man or young women to see this film. 
Click Here to See Movie Trailer
Click Here to See PBS Newshour Interview
*Restricted. Children Under 17 Require Accompanying Parent or Adult Guardian.An R-rated motion picture, in the view of the Rating Board, contains some adult material. An R-rated motion picture may include adult themes, adult activity, hard language, intense or persistent violence, sexually-oriented nudity, drug abuse or other elements, so that parents are counseled to take this rating very seriously. Children under 17 are not allowed to attend R-rated motion pictures unaccompanied by a parent or adult guardian. Parents are strongly urged to find out more about R-rated motion pictures in determining their suitability for their children. Generally, it is not appropriate for parents to bring their young children with them to R-rated motion pictures. 
Listen to 
Phillip Jackson 
Guest Host on WVON
"Are Their Still Vestiges 
of Slavery in 2013?"
"Should Children See 
12 Years A Slave?"
Friday, November 29, 2013 
7:00 pm to 10:00 pm CST
Join us at 8:00 pm Eastern; 7:00 pm Central; 6:00 pm Mountain; 5:00 pm Pacific; 4:00 pm Alaskan; 3:00 pm Hawaiian.
Listener Call-In # 773-591-1690
Click Here to Listen Live 
Please call 773.285.9600 for more information about The Black Star Project.

The Black Star Project
| 3473 South King Drive, Box 464 | Chicago | IL | 60616